OCRA Awards $6.6 Million in Ovarian Cancer Research Grants for 2020

(January 13, 2020) Thanks to your support, 22 top scientists at 19 eminent medical centers across the world will delve into important topics across the ovarian cancer landscape. In 2020, along with our other ongoing grants and programs, OCRA is investing nearly $9 million in the fight against ovarian cancer.

These grants, awarded internationally for the first time in OCRA’s history, allow the brightest scientific minds in the cancer field to make progress toward immunotherapy, precision medicine, drug resistance, genetic mutations, tumor micro-environments, combination treatments and more.

“With our most recent group of grantees, OCRA is again proud to be funding investigators who are working to answer some of the most pressing questions in ovarian cancer research today,” said Beth Karlan, MD, Chair of the OCRA Scientific Advisory Committee.

“We are thrilled to be supporting these innovative projects, whose findings will help inform our understanding of ovarian cancer and improve outcomes for patients.”

Meet OCRA’s newest grantees and learn more about their projects.

Collaborative Research Development Grant Recipients

Ugo Cavallaro, PhD – Fondazione Istituto Europeo di Oncologia e Centro Cardiologico Fondazione Monzino
Andrew Godwin, PhD – University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute
Sandra Orsulic, PhD (renewal) – Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Sohrab Shah, PhD – Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Liz Tilberis Early Career Award Recipients

James Duncan, PhD – The Research Institute of Fox Chase Cancer Center
Mark Eckert, PhD – The University of Chicago
Brooke Howitt, MD – Stanford University
Sudipto Ganguly, PhD – Johns Hopkins University
Sunila Pradeep, PhD (renewal) – The Medical College of Wisconsin
Boris Winterhoff, MD (renewal) – University of Minnesota – Twin Cities
Dmitriy Zamarin, MD, PhD (renewal) – Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Ann and Sol Schreiber Mentored Investigator Award Recipients

David Chapel, MD – Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Yilun Deng, PhD – University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
Elizabeth Lee, MD – Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Jianhuang Lin, PhD – The Wistar Institute
Duygu Ozmadenci, PhD – University of California, San Diego
Elizabeth Raupach, PhD – The Translational Genomics Research Institute
Camilla Salvagno, PhD – Weill Medical College of Cornell University
Janice Santiago, PhD – University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Ignacio Vázquez-García, PhD – Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Morozov Yaroslav, PhD – University of Pennsylvania

These grants were made possible only because of direct support from you, our dedicated community. We thank you for your commitment to ending this disease, and look forward to sharing new, lifesaving discoveries throughout the year.

Your gift today can help fund even more groundbreaking research in the future, along with training for future medical professionals, advocacy for more federal research funding, and programs to support survivors and their families. Donate today and change the face of ovarian cancer care, forever.


Posted on in OCRA News, Research